How does it work?

 

LaVie is very easy to use: simply fill the bottle with tap water and place it in its case. An integrated sensor tells the unit to start the purification cycle: the LEDs located all along the case light up and emit a blue light that treats the water. At the end of the treatment, the light goes out and the water is now purified.

Purification consists of removing chlorine and contaminants from tap water. Chlorine and its derivatives, originally used to keep sanitized water in distribution systems, are responsible for bad taste and odour while other substances such as pesticides and traces of drugs can contaminate water and affect health. LaVie uses chlorine as a Trojan horse: the LEDs send UV-A radiation, which triggers a photolysis treatment. Chlorine is eliminated through chain reactions and radicals with high oxidizing power attack contaminants in the water. This eliminates tastes and odours as well as harmful substances, while preserving the trace elements essential for well-being.

What are the limits of use of LaVie?


There is no mechanical filtration of any physical particles present in the water. Our product is therefore not intended to treat water containing mud, sand, faeces, salts...

In the same way, our product has no effect on radioactivity and radioelements.

LaVie is intended to enhance the quality of tap water that is originally potable.

Effectiveness of our product - publication of laboratory test results

 

LaVie permits the removal of chlorine, glyphosate, contaminants and traces of drugs as well as the sterilization of water.

Read the expert reports

What is the duration of the LaVie treatment?


The default processing time is 15 minutes. In case of unsatisfactory taste at the end of the process, treatment times of 22 and 30 minutes can be selected.

​​

Are UV rays harmful? What are the characteristics of the radiation emitted by LAVIE LEDs?  


In small quantities, UV radiation is good for health. On the other hand, in case of overexposure, UV radiation can be responsible for skin, eye and immune pathology. 

There are 3 different types of UV: UVA, UVB and UVC.

  • UVAs correspond to radiations of wavelengths from 315 to 400 nm. They are not harmful for humans. They represent about 95% of the UV rays that reach Earth. They are responsible for the immediate tanning effect. In case of excessive and repeated exposures, they are harmful in the long term because they boost the skin aging.

  • UVB radiation corresponds to wavelengths from 280 to 315 nm. They have significant biological activity. They are responsible for tanning and delayed sunburns ; in addition to these short-term effects, they promote skin aging and skin cancers.

  • UVC corresponds to radiations of wavelengths from 100 to 280 nm. This is the most dangerous type of UV. One of their targets is DNA, they have a very important carcinogenic potential and they burn the epidermis very quickly. Fortunately, they are filtered by the ozone layer before they reach the earth. They are therefore found only by artificial sources such as germicidal lamps. Those devices need to be used with great care.

The LEDs used in LaVie only emit UV-A and visible light
For treating and disinfecting water with UV, UV-C or UV-B are traditionally used. Our treatment method is innovative because it uses only UV-A rays. Using only UV-A light, our case emits a light that is safe for the user, comparable to the light of the daylight.​

What are the characteristics of the bottle used provided with LaVie ?


Borosilicate glass bottle / natural bamboo leak proof cap

  • Sustainable: made of thick and transparent borosilicate glass.

  • Resistant to thermal shocks: borosilicate glass is a type of glass with high temperature resistance and high chemical stability. This is the ideal way to enjoy a hot or iced drink.

  • Convenient design: A simple and elegant design with a bottle easy to use.

  • Healthy: the bottle does not contain bisphenol A (BPA), bisphenol S (BPS), PVC or cadmium.

  • Easy to clean: the glass is super smooth, very easy to clean with clear water.

 

What is the ecological impact of a plastic mineral water bottle?


With 700 km of transport and 20 grams of PET, 1 liter of mineral water requires 0.23 liters of petroleum and produces 0.5 kg of CO2.
The annual world market for mineral water in plastic bottles is therefore:

  • 200 billion liters of water

  • 250 million barrels of petroleum

  • 100 million tons of CO2


Can you tell us more about plastic pollution of the oceans?


Pollution of the oceans by plastic is one of the major and urgent problems of our time. 
Scientists are warning us that if we continue in this way, in 2050, there could be more plastic in the ocean than fish

How did we get into this mess?
The use of plastics has increased by a factor of 20 in the last half century. This represents an increase from 15 million tons produced in 1964 to 311 million tons in 2014. And that amount could double in the next 20 years.

One third of all plastic waste ends up in nature. Particularly in the oceans, where they form a "seventh continent" which is expected to grow in alarming proportions.

Two things to know about plastic bottles that contribute significantly in generating this pollution:

  • Every year 100 billion plastic bottles are scattered in nature, 

  • Life expectancy of a plastic waste in nature: between 100 and 1000 years

Approximately 150 million tons of plastics would float in the oceans nowadays. The experts are currently predicting that the oceans should contain one ton of plastic for every three tons of fish in 2025 and more plastic than fish in 2050.

How does LaVie differ from others water treatments?


If compared to Lavie, there is no water treatment device that can filter bad components in the tap water such as chlorine, chloramine, pesticides, etc. without reducing minerals or trace elements.

  • UV-C reactors destroy bacteria and virus DNA but don’t affect chlorine, or pesticides.

  • Water purifiers with reverse osmosis technology (RO) destroy all minerals and trace elements, while half of the water input is wasted and dangerous.

  • Ultrafiltration (UF) eliminates bacteria and virus but slightly reduces the present minerals in the water. In addition, this method is also not active at all about odor, taste and dissolved pollutants.

  • Filtering jugs also have undeniable benefits for human health. With these water purifiers, there is a huge reduction of minerals and trace elements, while addition of silver oxide is harmful. Furthermore, longer use of the same water purifier without any thorough cleaning can lead to bacteria development in the water storage tank.

Filtering jugs - good solution or not?


Filtering jugs seem to be a good solution for purifying tap water because they filter part of the limestone and lower the chlorine contained in tap water, but according to the French National Sanitary Safety Agency (ANSES), the effectiveness of these jugs is more than doubtful.

Studies show that filters:

  • are unable to eliminate nitrates. 

  • quickly release various contaminants into drinking water (sodium, potassium, ammonium and silver ions which is a carcinogenic element). 

  • may also lead to a lowering of the pH value or even to a deterioration in the microbiological quality of the water.

ANSES indicates that if they are improperly used, filter jugs become a breeding ground for bacteria. In contrast to what people do, the carafe must be regularly cleaned and the filter must be changed every month to avoid contamination. 

Thus filter jugs can be worse than simply drinking untreated tap water.

What arefree radicals?


Free radicals are molecules with unpaired valence electron. These unpaired electrons make free radicals highly reactive towards other substances, or even towards themselves: their molecules will often spontaneously dimerize or polymerize if they meet each other.

When it occurs in the human body, this chain reaction is usually called oxidative stress. In nature, nothing is all right or all wrong. So... if free radicals have an oxidizing power that stimulates aging, our body makes free radicals to defend itself against bacteria and micro-organisms.


With LaVie, chlorine molecule contained in tap water is transformed into ultra-oxidizing radicals, 100 times more oxidizing than chlorine itself.

Through this process, complex molecules are broken down into their simplest elements: carbon, hydrogen, oxygen. This treatment is completely natural, no product is introduced into the water. The degrades organic products (bacteria, viruses, parasites) and chemicals (pesticides, drugs) without affecting minerals.

Note: Free radicals have a very short lifetime (less than 1 second).
After the treatment phase there are no more free radicals in the water.

Chlorine and chlorinated derivatives - what is their impact on health?


Chlorine is added to water distribution systems in the form of bleach or chlorine gas, at the outlet of the treatment plant, to prevent contamination of the water during its journey in systems where contamination is possible, by bacteria (gastroenteritis, salmonellosis) or viruses (gastroenteritis, hepatitis A and E). It is a bactericide that can be used throughout the network and is easy to use.

Chlorine toxicity
Chlorine is not harmful, but its derivatives are problematic. However, the risk associated with micro-organisms in the absence of chlorine would be greater than the risk associated with chlorinated derivatives. In order to reduce these by-products as much as possible, other disinfection processes such as ozonation and UV need to be used in addition.
Toxicity of chlorinated derivatives
Chlorinated derivatives are known carcinogens in the WHO IARC classification. The cancers most commonly associated with THMs in drinking water are bladder, rectal and colon cancers.

Access to drinking water in the world?


According to the latest World Health Organization (WHO) report from 2013, 11% of the world's population (768 million people) had no access to safe drinking water in 2011. This causes millions of deaths, mainly due to dysentery.

Among the poorest countries, East Asia and Sub-Saharan Africa are the regions of the world where the situation is most alarming due to structural reasons but also because of the strong increase in population. The continental scale of some countries such as India or China masks huge disparities, especially between rural areas and cities.

Access to fresh will even be one of the geostrategic stakes of the 21st century. That’s why some people do not hesitate to refer to water as the blue gold. 

It is urgent to act and manage this precious resource, both for humanitarian reasons and to avoid wars and conflicts.

​​

What are the costs of using the LaVie products?

 

  • Low energy consumption (1000 litres of purified water for 2 € of electricity)

  • No filters or consumables, no additional usage costs

Return on investment of 10 months for a family of 2 people compared to bottled mineral water
Return on investment of 2 years for a family of 2 people compared to a filter jug

Contact us


contact@solable.fr

We are innovation

8, avenue Fernand Julien - Z.A. de Bertoire - 13410 Lambesc - France contact@solable.fr

© 2019 - Par Olivier MORI pour SOLABLE

Principe de fonctionnement de LaVie

 

LaVie est très simple à utiliser : il vous suffit de remplir la bouteille avec de l'eau du robinet et de la placer dans son étui. Un capteur intégré indique à l'unité de démarrer le cycle de purification : les LEDs s'allument et émettent une lumière bleue qui traite l'eau. À la fin du traitement, la lumière s'éteint et l'eau est désormais purifiée.

La purification consiste  à éliminer chlore et les contaminants contenus dans l'eau du robinet. Utilisés pour maintenir l'eau potable dans le réseau de distribution, le chlore ainsi que ses dérivés sont responsables du mauvais goût et de la mauvaise odeur tandis que d'autres substances comme des pesticides et des traces de médicaments peuvent contaminer l'eau et nuire à la santé. Avec LaVie, ce chlore est utilisé comme un cheval de Troie : les LEDs envoient un rayonnement UV-A, ce qui déclenche un traitement de photolyse. Par des réactions en chaîne, le chlore est éliminé et des radicaux au fort pouvoir oxydant attaquent les contaminants présents dans l'eau. Cela permet de supprimer les goûts et les odeurs ainsi que les substances nocives, tout en préservant les oligo-éléments indispensables au bien-être.

​​

Quelles sont les limites d’utilisation de LaVie ?


LaVie ne contenant aucun filtre, il n’’y a donc pas de filtration mécanique de particules physiques éventuellement contenues dans l’eau. Notre produit n’est donc pas destiné à traiter de l’eau chargée en boue, sable, matières fécales, sels…

De même notre produit n’a aucune action sur la radioactivité et les radioéléments

LaVie est destiné à améliorer la qualité d’une eau du robinet qui est initialement potable.


Efficacité de notre produit la preuve en chiffres – publication des conclusions des tests en laboratoires

LaVie permet l'abattement du chlore, du glyphosate, de contaminants et traces de médicaments ainsi que la stérilisation de l'eau.

Consulter les rapports

​​

Quelle est la durée de traitement ?

La durée du traitement est de 15 minutes par défaut. En cas de goût insatisfaisant à l'issue du procédé, des durées de traitement de 22 et 30 minutes peuvent être sélectionnées.

​​​

Les UV sont-ils nocifs ?

Quelles sont les caractéristiques du rayonnement émis par les LEDs de LaVie ?  


En petite quantité, le rayonnement UV est bénéfique pour la santé et il est même indispensable à l’être humain pour la synthèse de vitamine D. En cas de surexposition, les UV peuvent être responsables de pathologie au niveau cutané, oculaire et immunitaire. 

Il existe trois types d'UV différents : UV-A, UV-B et UV-C.

  • Les UV-A correspondent à des radiations de longueurs d’ondes de 315 à 400 nm. Ils ne représentent pas un grand danger pour l’homme. Ils représentent environ 95% des rayonnements UV qui atteignent la terre et sont responsables de l’effet de bronzage immédiat. Ils sont néfastes à long terme en cas d’expositions excessives et répétées car ils favorisent le vieillissement de la peau.

  • Les UV-B correspondent à des radiations de longueurs d’ondes de 280 à 315 nm. Ils ont une activité biologique importante. Ils sont responsables du bronzage et des brûlures à retardement. Outre ces effets à court terme, ils favorisent le vieillissement de la peau et l'apparition de cancers cutanés.

  • Les UV-C correspondent à des radiations de longueurs d’ondes de 100 à 280 nm. C’est le type d’UV le plus dangereux : une de leurs cibles étant l’ADN, ils possèdent un potentiel cancérigène très important et ils brûlent l'épiderme de façon très rapide. Heureusement, ils sont filtrés par la couche d'ozone avant qu'ils n'atteignent la Terre.

LaVie utilise des LEDs qui émettent seulement des UV-A.

Pour traiter et désinfecter l’eau, l’homme de l’art a privilégié les UV-C ou UV-B. Notre mode de traitement est innovant de par le fait qu’il utilise seulement des UV-A. LaVie émet donc une lumière sans danger pour l’utilisateur, comparable à celle que nous recevons tout au long de la journée avec la lumière du jour.

Quelles sont les caractéristiques de la bouteille utilisée dans LaVie ?

Bouteille en verre borosilicaté / bouchon antifuite en bambou naturel

  • Durable : fait en verre de borosilicate épais et transparent.

  • Résistant aux chocs thermiques : le verre de borosilicate est un type de verre à haute résistance à la température et à haute stabilité chimique. Il s'agit de la façon idéale de profiter d'une boisson chaude ou glacée.

  • Conception élégante : Un design simple et élégant avec une bouteille commode à tenir et à utiliser.

  • Sain : la bouteille n'a pas de bisphénol A (BPA), de bisphénol S (BPS), de PVC ni de cadmium.

  • Facile à nettoyer : Le verre est super lisse, très facile à nettoyer à l’eau claire 

Quel est l’impact écologique d’une bouteille d’eau minérale en plastique ?


Avec 700 km de transport et 20 grammes de PET, 1 L d’eau minérale nécessite 0,23 L de pétrole et produit 1/2 kg de CO2.

Annuellement, le marché mondial de l’eau minérale en bouteille plastique représente :

  • 200 milliards de litres d’eau

  • 250 millions de barils de pétrole

  • 100 millions de tonnes de CO2

En utilisant LaVie, vous pouvez vous passer de l'achat de bouteille d'eau en plastique et vous réalisez donc un geste écologique qui participe à lutter contre la pollution plastique des océans.

 

Pouvez-vous nous en dire plus sur la pollution des océans par le plastique ?

 

La pollution des océans par le plastique est une des problématiques majeures et urgentes de notre époque. Les scientifiques lancent un cri d’alarme en nous disant que si l’on continue ainsi, d’ici 2050, il y aura plus de plastique que de poissons dans les océans !

Comment en est-on arrivé à une telle situation ?


L'utilisation des plastiques a été multipliée par 20 durant le demi-siècle dernier. On est ainsi passé de 15 millions de tonnes produites en 1964 à 311 millions en 2014. Et cette quantité pourrait doubler d'ici 20 ans...

Un tiers des déchets plastiques finissent dans la nature, notamment dans les océans où ils forment un « septième continent » qui devrait continuer à croître dans des proportions toujours plus inquiétantes. 

Deux choses à savoir sur les bouteilles en plastique qui contribuent grandement à générer cette pollution :

  • Chaque année, 100 milliards de bouteilles en plastique sont dispersées dans la nature, 

  • La durée de vie d’un déchet plastique dans la nature est comprise entre 100 et 1000 ans

Environ 150 millions de tonnes de plastiques flotteraient dans les océans aujourd’hui. En l’état actuel des choses, les experts prédisent que les océans devraient contenir une tonne de plastique pour trois tonnes de poisson en 2025 et plus de plastique que de poissons en 2050.

Carafes filtrantes : bonne solution ou pas ?

 

Les carafes filtrantes semblent être une bonne solution pour purifier l’eau du robinet car elles permettent de filtrer une partie du calcaire et d’abaisser le taux de chlore contenue dans l’eau mais selon l’Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire (ANSES), l’efficacité de ces carafes est plus que discutable.

En effet, des études montrent que les filtres :

  • sont incapables d’éliminer les nitrates. 

  • relarguent rapidement différents contaminants dans l’eau de boisson, (sodium, potassium, ammonium et ions argent qui est un élément cancérigène). 

  • peuvent aussi conduire à un abaissement du pH, voire à une altération de la qualité microbiologique de l’eau.

L’ANSES rappelle que, mal utilisées, ces carafes s’avèrent de véritables nids à bactéries. Contrairement à ce que fait la plupart de leurs utilisateurs, il est donc impératif de nettoyer régulièrement sa carafe et de changer les filtres tous les mois : dans le cas contraire, l’eau est contaminée et le risque d'infection s'accroit. 

Quand on fait le bilan en termes de contraintes d’usage et en termes de bénéfices apportés par rapport aux risques générés par les carafes filtrantes, la conclusion est « inutile voire pire »

Les radicaux libres, c’est quoi ?


Un radical libre est un atome ou une molécule qui possède un nombre impair d'électrons sur sa couche externe. C’est ce nombre impair d’électrons qui rend la molécule instable, et celle-ci n’aura alors de cesse de capter ou céder un électron à une autre molécule de son entourage, propageant ainsi le phénomène. 


Avec LaVie, la totalité des molécules de chlore contenues dans l’eau du robinet se transforme en radicaux ultra-oxydants, 100 fois plus oxydants que le chlore lui-même. Ce traitement par radicaux ultra-oxydants est même plus puissant que le traitement par ozone qui est pourtant connu pour être un des plus performant.

Pour comparer les forces en présence, on considère que le chlore élimine toute bactérie ou virus en environ trente minutes quand il est correctement dosé alors qu'un radical n'a besoin que de quelques millisecondes pour arriver à un résultat bien plus efficace, comme la destruction de parasites que le chlore ne peut éliminer.

Par ce procédé, les molécules complexes sont ainsi décomposées dans leurs éléments les plus simples : carbone, hydrogène, oxygène. Ce traitement est entièrement naturel, aucun produit n’est introduit dans l’eau, qui dégrade les produits organiques (bactéries, virus, parasites) et chimiques (pesticides, médicaments) sans affecter les minéraux.

Nota : les radicaux libres ont une durée de vie très courte, inférieure à 1 seconde.
Après la phase de traitement il n’y a donc plus de radicaux libres dans l’eau

 

Chlore et dérivés chlorés – quel impact sur la santé ?


Le chlore est ajouté dans les réseaux sous forme d’eau de javel ou de chlore gazeux, en sortie de station de traitement, pour prévenir la contamination de l’eau au cours de son trajet dans les réseaux où des contaminations sont possibles, par des bactéries (gastro-entérites, salmonelloses) ou des virus (gastro-entérites, hépatites A et E). C’est un bactéricide utilisable sur l’ensemble du réseau et facile d’utilisation.

Toxicité du chlore
Il ne présente pas de danger pour la santé humaine, mais ce sont ses dérivés qui sont problématiques. Rappelons néanmoins que le risque associé aux micro-organismes, en l’absence de chlore, serait plus important que le risque associé aux dérivés chlorés. Mais pour diminuer au maximum ces sous-produits, il convient d’utiliser en complément d’autres procédés de désinfection, notamment l’ozonation et les UV.


Toxicité des dérivés chlorés
Les dérivés chlorés sont des cancérigènes avérés dans la classification du CIRC de l’OMS. Les cancers les plus fréquemment associés aux THMs dans l’eau de boisson sont les cancers de la vessie, du rectum et du colon. 

L’accès à l’eau potable dans le monde ?


Selon le dernier rapport de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) qui date de 2013, 11 % de la population mondiale, soit 768 millions d’individus, n’avait pas accès à l’eau potable en 2011. Ceci provoque des millions de décès, essentiellement par dysenterie.

Parmi les pays les plus pauvres, l’Asie de l’Est et L’Afrique sub-saharienne sont les régions du monde où la situation est la plus alarmante de part des raisons structurelles mais aussi en raison de la forte augmentation de la population. L’échelle continentale de certains pays comme l’Inde ou la Chine, masque d’énormes disparités, notamment entre les zones rurales et les villes.

Le sujet est que trop rarement traité par les médias mais on estime que d’ici 20 ans, 1 milliard d’individus n’auront pas accès à un réseau d’eau potable ! 

L’accès à l’eau douce étant un élément vital pour l’homme, ce sera même un des enjeux géostratégiques du 21eme siècle, à tel point que certains n’hésitent pas à parler d’or bleu. 

Il est donc urgent d’agir et de gérer cette ressource rare, aussi bien pour des raisons humanitaires que pour éviter des guerres ou des conflits.

Quel sont les coûts d’utilisation du produit LaVie ?

  • Basse consommation d’énergie (1000 litres d’eau purifiée pour 2 € d’électricité)

  • Sans filtre ni consommable, aucun coût d’usage supplémentaire

Retour sur investissement de 10 mois pour une famille de 2 personnes par rapport à de l’eau minérale en bouteille
Retour sur investissement de 2 ans pour une famille de 2 personnes par rapport à une carafe filtrante

​​

Comment vous contacter ?


contact@solable.fr 

We are innovation

8, avenue Fernand Julien - Z.A. de Bertoire - 13410 Lambesc - France contact@solable.fr

© 2019 - Par Olivier MORI pour SOLABLE